.

Tell Us: Should Assault Weapons Be Banned?

Some politicians are suggesting that it's time to ban assault weapons in the United States in the wake of Friday's Newtown school shooting.

Nineteen types of assault weapons — semi-automatic or fully automatic guns with the capacity to shoot many bullets in a short period of time — were banned in the United States from 1994 to 2004.

In 2004, the ban expired and neither President Bush nor Congress acted to renew it.

Some politicians are calling for new laws that would ban the type of high-capacity weapons used by the gunman to kill 20 children and six adults in an elementary school in Newtown, Conn. on Friday.

Outgoing Sen. Joe Lieberman told the Associated Press Sunday that the U.S. should ban military-style assault weapons. Sen. Dianne Feinstein, a California Democrat, said she would propose a law next year banning big clips, drums and strips of more than 10 bullets.

In his address to the victims' families and first-responders in Newtown on Sunday night, President Obama implied that he would address the gun control issue. Other elected officials — including U.S. Rep. John Larson, D-1st — are publicly calling for an assault weapons ban and other actions to address the availability of firearms in general.

Historically, though, many voters and politicians have rejected any restrictions on gun possession in this country. On Tuesday, Pa. Gov. Tom Corbett warned against a rush to pass new gun laws, according to this Morning Call report.

Should assault weapons be banned?

Take our poll and tell us in the comments.

WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. March 01, 2013 at 08:31 PM
Anthony...Unfortunately I don't usually read posts that are not addressed to me so I don't know what you are talking about...You characterize my posts as venomous and yet you are all over the place chastising me to other posters as blowing up hot air (empty dialogue)...What is so uncommon sense about going with the movement of gun safety?..And when were the rights of citizens getting diminished?..I am sure you heard about the Justice who said something about "perpetuation of racial entitlement"...How would you characterize that?..To me, that sounded like diminution of rights of citizens...Certainly, proposing gun control is nowhere near denying gun owners their rights to own guns...It's just suggesting to stay away from automatic military type weapons which don't have use in sports...That's MAJOR common sense, don't you think? Keep coming with your insults...I have means to counter them. Finally, I'd rather have Bloomberg than any of your men whoever they are ...Lapierre?...Give me a break.
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. March 02, 2013 at 12:44 PM
StGabes...Now you just exposed yourself as one of the recent McCarthyites cropping up from the tea party (Ted Cruz ring a bell?..He has a list of communists in Harvard but refuses to come public with it)...I must inform you, since you appear to be uninformed, Bloomberg is one of the most successful capitalist in Wall Street...Capitalists don't rhyme with Communists unless you are just spewing out more expletives to people you don't agree with...It makes you feel good doing it but it's exposing your ignorance about communism. I heart New York...Love to visit there to shop, tour the great museums, Broadway shows, the Yankees, lesser gun deaths than Chicago...It doesn't look like a city run by a bullshitting "COMMIE" to me. Let's bury McCarthy forever...He was a stain in this great country's pride.
Rosemary B March 02, 2013 at 01:29 PM
My apologies, wrote it very late at night. Glad it provided a light hearted moment!
StGabes March 02, 2013 at 05:41 PM
Nope, I know what's up!!! I know all that commie does and all he tries to control... CONTROL CONTROL CONTROL! ME ME ME! Sounds like are current COMMIE in chief!!! You need to wake up!!! I remember you saying you're not from here? Where are you from?
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. March 02, 2013 at 07:53 PM
Obviously,you really don't know what a commie is, so look it up...Just because you hate Obama, that does not make him a commie...Again, google him and see what he is made of...I bet he is a better citizen than any of your tea party poopers...Being a McCarthyite stinks. As far as my country of origin, let's just say I am a naturalized citizen of the U.S. of good standing and you can guess where I came from...English is my second language and not very good at it so bear with me.
Rosemary B March 02, 2013 at 09:31 PM
FYI the Tea Party is made up of many fine Americans whose only sin is being for small government and less taxes! I wish people on this thread would stop insulting people who think and believe differently then they do! All the insults are exhausting and a waste of all of our time. Keep to the facts to try and persuade people to your point of view and keep your insults to yourself!
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. March 03, 2013 at 02:13 AM
In one of the HBO Newsroom programs, this group (Tea Party) was called the American Taliban...Watch Episode 10 of Newsroom on HBO...It will show you why...A link below will also tell you how this is so. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/robert-reich/sequestration-tea-party_b_2788453.html
Anthony Wayne March 03, 2013 at 02:16 AM
Insults are a frequent response to common sense by "the majority". Why do you think we are in such a pickle? There has not been a democracy that did not murder itself. Rule of law or democratic republic, the american way, is fast disappearing from the landscape at the hands of "the majority". Once lost, it shall never return here again. Keep voting your conscience and praying for nullification.
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. March 03, 2013 at 02:17 AM
Insults, Rosemary B?..What about your insulting characterization of voters who chose Obama for a second term instead of Romney as weak-minded?..Worth looking at yourself in the mirror, doesn't it...You can dish 'em but you can't take 'em, is that it?
Morgan King March 03, 2013 at 04:19 AM
Yes, small government and less taxes, resulting in a country empowering unelected plutocrats at the expense of the power of our democratically elected representatives - the exact opposite of the motivation for the original Tea Party! It's not fringe because everybody else is a bunch of 'takers' blinded to the truth of the real American vision of individual freedom, it's fringe because it's obviously the horrible antithesis to everything that makes this country awesome.
Rosemary B March 03, 2013 at 04:49 AM
People who are easily swayed by the media and do not do any of their own research or think for them selves are still weak minded. What else would you call them? I at least try to conduct myself with a certain degree of class and decorum. Unlike many others who post on this forum. Many others need to look in the mirror, if they can stand what they would see.
Rosemary B March 03, 2013 at 05:07 AM
"OUR MISSION The Tea Party Patriots’ mission is to restore America’s founding principles of Fiscal Responsibility, Constitutionally Limited Government and Free Markets.OUR CORE PRINCIPLES FISCAL RESPONSIBILITY means not overspending, and not burdening our children and grandchildren with our bills. In the words of Thomas Jefferson: “the principle of spending money to be paid by posterity [is] swindling futurity on a large scale.” A more fiscally responsible government will take fewer taxes from our paychecks.CONSTITUTIONALLY LIMITED GOVERNMENT means power resides with the people and not with the government. Governing should be done at the most local level possible where it can be held accountable. America’s founders believed that government power should be limited, enumerated, and constrained by our Constitution. Tea Party Patriots agree. The American people make this country great, not our government." Sounds just like the Taliban!
Morgan King March 03, 2013 at 07:10 AM
Our government IS it's people - that's what a representative democracy in a free country is. And, obviously, everybody wants fiscal responsibility in the government - how we reach the point where the federal budget is balanced is still being argued, but there is no party that doesn't want to ultimately achieve that. Of course. However, we've seen what 'trickle-down' Rand-free-market economics does in the long term: massive income inequality, jobs moved overseas, domestic wages and benefits drop, inflation skyrockets, generations of educational failure, decades of military imperialism, corporate-funded elections, the collapse of the housing and higher education markets, etc. so it's little surprise there's no longer a lot of support for that anymore, even among the Republicans.
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. March 03, 2013 at 11:48 AM
To Roesemary B...Precisely what I was alluding to...You can freely insult people who disagree with you, but whine when truth is sent your way. Media?..Where else do we get our info...However, we should be discriminating on our choice of media source, certainly not from faux FOX News or Rush Limbaugh...Without excellent news source, we are left with throwing darts at the wallboard...We listen to what's out there and we decide on what is reasonable and what is nonsense...Our decisions are characterized as weak-minded while yours are the Bible...Who are you to insult us willy nilly?..Classy?..I don't think so...It's more like typical trash talk from your side. Your idol Ronald Reagan is rolling in his grave right now on what's become of conservatism...Why, he won't even stand the chance of recognition the way the tea party is behaving. On overspending...Obama came in with the country in financial trouble big time because of reckless spending by Bush and company...One needs to invest (spend) to get us out of the muck...It is quite evident that the market and economy is recovering, albeit slowly, thanks to the obstructionist efforts of the tea party which is poised to stymie Obama's programs so he would look bad...Meanwhile, the country is becoming like some European countries who imposed austerity programs. Less government/drown it in the bathtub...Once again, I say, "When the cat is away, the mice will play."...The government needs to watch badly behaving entities.
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. March 03, 2013 at 12:15 PM
This is what Wayne LaPierre was warning citizens about...Arm yourselves against government tyranny...These crazies solve issues with violence rather than with civil discourse. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/03/02/lawmakers-get-violent-ema_0_n_2796551.html
Rosemary B March 03, 2013 at 01:17 PM
I never made a personal insult about anyone in particular. I am stating a truthful opinion. People who are easily swayed by the media and do not do their own research are weak-minded. No matter who they vote for. Sorry if this truth has hit to close to home for some people, but we digress from the issue at hand of gun control and are devolving into mudslinging. This is what we all should be avoiding and we should all be striving to conduct ourselves better so that we can have productive conversations and learn from each other and not try so hard to hurt each other. Even though it is what we see from Washington everyday on Chris Mathews, Al Sharpton and in embarrassing tirades from Senators like Keith Ellison and other poor leaders in Washington who hold the highest positions,it is not the example we should be following because it will lead us down the road to anarchy and chaos. I pray that new leaders rise up SOON who know how to LEAD and get things done. Know how to CREATE and FINALLY PASS BUDGETS that are BALANCED. Instead of so gleefully playing on and encouraging the fears of the people. Especially those among us who are short sighted, weak minded and don't know how to think for themselves and are easily swayed to voting for people who don't have their best interests at heart but are more interested in maintaining power and achieving control over the people.
Rosemary B March 03, 2013 at 01:26 PM
Thank you for bringing that to our attention. They are breaking the law and should be stopped, though their opinion on Gun Control is still valid and should be heard. They do need to express it in a law abiding way. Here is another example of someone expressing their opinion of a politician an a criminal way. Funny how the Media ignored this one. Makes one wonder why... http://sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/320601935/m/6470006113
Rosemary B March 03, 2013 at 01:30 PM
My point is that this stuff happens on both sides. Some people just choose to see when it happens on one side. Or, worse yet, think that it is ok when it happens to the side that they disagree with. Those people scare me the most.
Rosemary B March 03, 2013 at 01:39 PM
Just to be fair and balanced, here is another one having to do directly with Gun Ownership Rights. Truly scary stuff. http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2013/01/02/liberal-ex-columnist-death-threats-published-in-des-moines-register/
Rosemary B March 03, 2013 at 01:48 PM
If everyone wanted Fiscal Responsibility a balanced budget would have been passed a long time ago and we would not have to keep raising the debt ceiling. I pray some new and wise leadership comes from all this chaos and in fighting soon and that the people of this country are wise enough to vote for it. Here is one opinion of the President's that I agree with: “The fact that we are here today to debate raising America’s debt limit is a sign of leadership failure. It is a sign that the U.S. government can’t pay its own bills. ... I therefore intend to oppose the effort to increase America’s debt limit.” — Then-Sen. Barack Obama, floor speech in the Senate, March 16, 2006
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. March 03, 2013 at 02:07 PM
You are certainly relentless, Rosemary B...You keep telling us that your arguments are valid (no personal insults) and yet you apply your broad brush insulting all of those who disagree with you as weak-minded...That's totally way out of line and decency...This is mudslinging without comparison. You mentioned a few liberal bloggers (Matthews, Sharpton, etc) but you forgot to name some suspect conservative ones as Hannity, Limbaugh, God knows who else....See, we have them on both sides...It's Democracy after all...But please , refrain on mudslinging at once (my opinions are better than your weak-minded ones) as it is making you look worse. On guns, why don't you join us in our search for lesser gun violence with sensible programs (background checks, etc,)rather than keep insisting on more destructive way to accomplish this with more machine guns and high capacity magazines to fend off dozens of home intruders, like when did this last happened...See, talking about stalking fear on citizens, as LaPierre intends, many weak-minded folks who can't think for themselves go to the store and buy themselves guns some of which are not even useful for hunters. Finally, the worst thing that happened in the last election was for the weak-minded voters who couldn't think for themselves, to re-elect the incumbent tea partyers...I hope this should be a lesson for them to throw the naysayers out of office so we can have a successful Obama second term.
StGabes March 03, 2013 at 07:47 PM
Willie, I've said it before, I don't hate anybody and I have looked it up and researched it hard, I think you should look it up, you will def. learn something... Obama is a Commie(Socialist, progressive) whatever watered down version you wanna use there all one of the same... I myself like commie, call me old fashion.... You said you like facts, those are the facts!!!!! Plain & Simple!!! That is the reason I don't Like the man. He is out to destroy this Country and is doing an a pretty good job of it.... The recovery or there lack of is a farce.... I didn't think you were from here, I was able to tell by the ignorance you exhibit... It's apparent you like the mans policy's because they must remind you of home. We don't want his busted policy's in America...
Morgan King March 03, 2013 at 07:54 PM
Not raising the debt ceiling prevents us from fully paying our debts, many of which are far older than this administration - funding this entire Middle Eastern conflict, for example (arguably both sides of the conflict if you really want to get into Reagan's backing of the Taliban in the first place, but that's another discussion). Our country has bills, and we have to pay them - you can't balance the budget without doing so. The biggest expenses in this country, by far, are health care and the military. Health care costs have artificially spiraled through medical corporate price fixing with insurance companies - the very thing Obamacare was originally designed to be a market balance against - and you can't cut a nickel from the maintenance of a decommissioned battleship without Conservatives spilling into the streets decrying our dangerous lapse in national security. Balancing the federal budget is the goal of every political entity, how we get there is the debate - not paying our debts, though, is exacerbating our fiscal problems, not solving them.
WILFREDO G. SALCEDO, Sr. March 03, 2013 at 08:26 PM
StGabes...I have been in this country long enough to know which party is more accommodating to the peoples needs, especially the downtrodden ones, and that is the Democratic Party...The Republicans coddle the rich who stash their cash in foreign tax havens, instead of investing in America...That's hardly an ignorance on my part...Meanwhile, you keep sticking to your utter ignorance on how the country has progressed since Obama took over, and yet you claim to be a bona fide resident of America...Do your homework and I suggest you stay away from faux Fox News and other conservative pundits, because they only feed you fake information and lots of Pinocchios! Maybe you are also ignorant of the fact that most of our programs such as schools, police, firemen, entitlements, health care many others are social programs and they all are beneficial to our existence...Who is the ignoramus now?
Moe March 04, 2013 at 12:00 AM
The Great Gun Debate: New Laws? http://www.americanthinker.com/2013/03/the_great_gun_debate_new_laws.html
John Donches March 04, 2013 at 05:28 PM
Just to let everyone know that there will be a presentation at Fire Company #1 in Emmaus on “Gun Rights” Tuesday, March 19th @ 7:30 PM. Click on the highlight to go to the Flyer and info sheet on this event. We at C.E.P.T.A. invite everyone to attend and come prepared to ask your questions. http://ceptapa.wordpress.com
BytraWatches March 07, 2013 at 08:06 PM
Reality Earth to the liberals saying "we don't don't find the benefits of home ownership of assault rifles and high capacity magazines worth the societal risk that comes with them" and we only want to restrict military type guns. The problem you people have is you are not reality based in what you are saying or you are not following the news around the country. Look in Colorado, the popular hunting shotgun will be illegal under their new proposed law (http://denver.cbslocal.com/2013/03/01/popular-standard-shotgun-could-be-banned-under-proposed-bill/) Look in the state of Washington where they were looking at stripping gun owners of the right to privacy with warrentless searches (http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Government/2013/02/19/Washington-State-Bill-To-Search-Gun-Owner-Homes-Introduced-Since-2005). The sad thing is this second story is only to be found on conservative websites since the mainstream media pulled it off their websites because they consider it to be damaging to their cause. But with stories like this in the press weekly, why should people who own guns not be worried about any proposed gunlegislation?
Morgan King March 07, 2013 at 10:36 PM
Right, and almost immediately that bill, Senate Bill 5737, was rejected and sent back to committee because that provision is, indeed, stupid.
BytraWatches March 13, 2013 at 05:51 PM
Here is why Universal Background Checks are such a problem with gun owners or future gun owners. Senator Schumer states that Universal Background Checks will not create any gun registry which is already illegal, but then days later he is out there pushing for Universal Gun Registration. Hello, a two face liar like all politicians. See for yourself (https://membership.nrahq.org/forms/donate.asp?CampaignID=universalregistratio). And the reason Universal Gun Registration is such a problem is because of things like we live in a country where the government is becoming more and more tyrannical as exemplified in this story. (http://www.infowars.com/new-jersey-woman-arrested-for-reciting-constitution-at-tax-meeting/) But history is doomed to repeat itself so come and take our guns away and watch our government be like every other government in man’s history, kill its own people enmass after taking away the peoples' guns.
Michael Anthony March 13, 2013 at 07:17 PM
Read this article: http://jpfo.org/articles-assd02/cramer-racist-roots.htm Watch this video: http://jpfo.org/filegen-a-m/movieplay-ngn-swf.htm Those should teach you to never trust anyone that mentions the word "control".

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something